school and education




Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology


Dr Thulani Leslie Magwali

Senior Lecturer

MBChB (U.Z), M.Med (O & G)(U.Z), MSc Clin. Epi. (U.Z)


The department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology is committed to the teaching, research and service delivery of all areas in reproductive health.The department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology operates from two sites: Harare Maternity Hospital and B-Floor, Old Building at the College of Health Sciences, Mazoe Street, Harare.


The functions of the department:

  1. To teach undergraduate fourth and fifth year medical students and postgraduate students in Obstetrics and Gynaecology. Students are attached to Harare, Parirenyatwa Hospitals in equal numbers. With the advent of Chitungwiza Hospital becoming a central hospital (some students now have attachments there).
  2. Provide clinical service to the two main teaching hospitals in Harare: Harare Central Hospital and Parirenyatwa Group of Hospitals.
  3. Conduct research in specific areas of obstetrics and gynaecology and reproductive health.

The department has an establishment of 18 lecturers (including 5 professors), 3 administrative and secretarial staff, 2 Research Midwives, 3 medical laboratory scientists, and 2 junior non-academic staff.

The department runs a high-risk referral maternity and gynaecological unit at Harare Maternity Hospital handling over 24,000 deliveries per year.


Contact Details

 B-Floor, Old College of Health Sciences Building,

 University of Zimbabwe

 P.O. Box A178,



Phone:707707 or 731000 Ext. 2251/2252

 Fax/Direct : 263-4-794272

 email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Talk to us